Writing the ‘Almost End’

Standard

I originally wrote a long column about reviews and how they are f*cking with my head. I decided to delete it and start over because it sounded like I was whining. Maybe I was, but I know, that no matter what I write, not everyone is going to like it. The most important thing is that like it. If I start trying to write for other people, I’ll fail miserably. Don’t get me wrong, reviews can be wonderful, inspiring and magnificent and I am thankful people actually take the time to write a review.

Let’s chat about something else. Granted I’ve been rather scattered this week, but I do have new projects sitting open on my laptop. Currently, I have three different stories open. Sounds a bit crazy, but today, I wrote the ‘almost end’ for a new story I recently started. It got me excited. I wrote Frozen Hearts like that. I started messing around with the idea of hockey boys and bam, the ‘almost end’ came about and soon there was an entire story.

Right now, I have a manuscript with one of my betas. That story happened when I had an idea to write about music boys. I created the characters and one day, I wrote the ‘almost end’ and before I knew it, I had written over 76k. Can you tell I’m not one for outlining. I’ve tried it. It doesn’t work for me. Apparently writing the ‘almost end’ is my way of outlining. It’s an interesting journey to get the characters to the almost end.

For me, it’s always weird to be at the beginning of the story because those self-doubts show up and I start to wonder if this story will be good enough. I think this week has taught me that it will never be good enough. Someone will always find something wrong with it, but if I love the story, then that should be good enough.

Xo Teegan

 

One response »

  1. I like the way you define that as the Almost End. I work in a very similar fashion–there’s usually a scene that, even if it doesn’t get written right away, is always there, like a goalpost in my mind. Everything else is written with the idea of supporting that almost end scene.

    I like that term. I think I’ll steal it! 🙂

    And don’t worry about reviews–in romance, what people like is much more specific and tends to me much more narrow than in some of the other genres. There’s no pleasing everyone, you just have to hope to make a few people’s days brighter.

Leave a Reply

