words are not the enemy….are you sure?

Standard

Once again I have been remiss in my blogging duties. Since I finished Echoes of Us and sent it off for evaluation from the powers of the publishing world, the written word has become my enemy. Don’t really now why. Maybe it’s the stress of waiting to see if the new story will get published? Whatever it is, it’s a pain in the ass.

The words haven’t completely disappeared, but it’s a f*cking struggle to get them to come out. Even this short entry is fighting with me. I feel like I’m rambling. My thoughts jump around and pull in me in six different directions. I’m not sure what I should write about. I’ve been complaining about my lack of focus, but I have managed to write almost 10k in a short story with a limit of 20k…that’s half a story. Of course, as I’m writing it, I’m thinking it’s total crap, which pisses me off, causing me to open another document.

The other day I actually tapped out a short outline of for Frozen Hearts 2 as I was working out on the stationary bike. It’s an interesting story line, but I don’t know how I would handle the professional hockey scene. Would I make up fake pro teams or not identify specific teams? What a PIA. Still not positive I want to write a sequel to that story. Some days, I’m not sure if I want to share another story with the public.

In one of my writing groups, our assignment was to set the work aside and do something else creative. It was suggested that creating something besides a story might help rev up the juices again. Yeah, I’m ready to try anything. I worked on some jewelry and allowed myself to read. I’m not sure if it worked, but I have a really cool bracelet and necklace. And I read TJ Klunes’s Bear, Otter and the Kid and the second book, Who We Are. If you haven’t read them, I recommend them.

And that’s all the rambling I have tonight…

Xo Teegan

 

Leave a Reply

