Story Flashbacks. Yay or Nay?

Standard

Sigh…I suck… I promised myself I would become more of a consistent blogger, but I’ve failed miserably. I think it’s because I’ve been trying to write in between checking my email for a word back from my publisher. Will they like the manuscript I sent them … or not…Checking one’s email 500 hundred times a day takes a lot of commitment and time.

I’ve also been working on a new story tentatively titled Picks & Pucks…It’s been driving me mad. (oh, and for those who don’t get the title, it’s figure skating and hockey) I can’t decide how I want to tell the story. The only thing that has been consistent is the Point of View is written in first person. Other than that…it’s a free for all. The big problem is whether I want to include flashbacks in the story. Maybe I should just throw it out there as a question.

Flashbacks or not? 

Do readers like flashbacks or do you just want to hear backstory in general conversation or thoughts. Do you like the entire scene laid out or just bits and pieces?

Besides the flashback issue, I also had a character, who started as just background noise, make it known that he needed to be part of the main story. He wanted a larger role. His story needed to be heard.  I tried to shut the little shit up, but he kept shouting until I finally tore up my loose outline and used it as confetti. I should have known better. I’m so not an outliner. It never works out and I end up feeling like I wasted valuable time sketching out something that will never happen. The only thing I stick to is writing the “almost end” (please refer to an earlier blog entry to learn about writing the “almost end.”)

I’m getting sidetracked again. I still believe I need minions. They could keep me focused and give me goals and keep me from looking at Tumblr and checking my email and limit my time spent oogling guys. Um, maybe not…

Okay, so if you have any thoughts about the use of flashbacks in a story, let me know…If not, well, have a good day. I’ll be here fighting with this story and checking my email and oogling cute guys

Xo Teegan

 

One response »

  1. I’m ambivalent about flashbacks. I think sometimes they work really well if there is a very specific scene/event that the reader needs to know the details of. But it annoys me if they are overused. Generally I prefer backstory to be woven in but I know how hard it is to do that skilfully.
    Good luck deciding bb!

Leave a Reply

