A Sports Bucket List

Standard

I’m watching hockey. Big Surprise. Anyway, I thought I’d post a blog I did when I was on Dreamspinner’s Blog…just in case you missed it.  Plus I thought it was cool. And I may have added a few things since I made the original post. 

Tons of people have bucket lists. I have specific bucket lists. Like a travel bucket list, a People I’d like to meet bucket list, a Sports bucket list…

 Ah, a sports bucket list. Yes, indeed, I have a sports bucket list. Some wishes are absolutely insane and will probably never happen but some are realistic and have happened. So without a drum role or the nat’l anthem, here is my Sports bucket list. 

Attend a World or US National figure skating championship … I’ve seen a ton of figure skating shows, but never a world-class competition.

Attend the Masters. Ever since Tiger Woods burst onto the scene, that tournament has intrigued me. At the beginning of his career, Master’s badges were selling for $10,000 per badge. Yes, people were paying ten grand for four days of golf. Crazy. I mean, you don’t even get an assigned seat, unless you pay someone to race for a hole with your chair in hand when they open the gates. Or I suppose you could do it yourself…

Attend all four grand slam events for tennis. Australian Open, The French Open, Wimbledon, and The US Open. I’ve attended several tennis matches and seen some of the world’s best play. My mini plays tennis, maybe she’ll get me there. 

The Olympics. I don’t care if it’s summer or winter and I would be one of those people who would attend every event possible. From the obscure to the feature sports.

Attend a Frozen Four… college hockey equivalent of the Stanley cup. To make it more special, please have my alma mater winning the event.

A world class gymnastics competition. Because gymnasts are totally insane. 

See a leg of the Tour de France, preferably a mountain time trial or a mountain stage going up Mont Ventoux_68422249_alpe

Wear a crazy hat and witness the Kentucky Derby 

I’ve had the opportunity to see some awesome competitions. I’ve seen a game 7 during the Stanley cup playoffs. Granted it was in round one, but the game was magnificent, even though my team lost. I’ve been to a Superbowl, a ton of professional basketball and hockey games. I was even on the kiss cam at Joe Louis arena in Detroit. Unfortunately, I was with my brother so the fans booed us when we didn’t kiss. Fun times. I was at a World Curling championship. And yes, I wanted to be there. I love playing the game and watching it.

I watched an all-star basketball practice where Shaq stood close to me. He’s very tall and large. During that same event, I knocked on Jason Kidd’s hotel room door to give him tickets. When he opened the door, he was in his boxers. I shoved the tickets in his hand and asked him to autograph a basketball. I’m not sure how I found my way out of the hotel after seeing a pro basketball player almost naked.

During a Superbowl pregame event, I thought Lynn Swan was a FedEX guy. We were in an elevator with the guy. Give me a break. He had on blue pants and a polo shirt and carried several FedEx envelopes. My friend laughed his head off at me. I also met Joe Theisman that same day. He’s a very nice guy. I refrained from asking about his broken leg.

A few times when I was sitting in the front row at an ice show, I found it quite difficult not reach out and grab a handful of ass. My God, those figure skaters have rock hard ass muscles and they wear skintight pants that highlight everything!

Maybe your sports bucket list involves watching your child chase after their goals. For me, this past year was filled with watching my daughter win her first “big” tennis tournament, and win her first state title in fastpitch softball. It was glorious watching her joy.

Or maybe, your bucket lists involve you competing in something? I’d love to skate with some pro hockey players… Just skate… Note: I will be wearing figure skates though. Or curl with some world-class curlers.

Or are there specific stars you’d love to meet?

Hmmm…. My list? Rafael Nadal, Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews (cuz they’re a set), Brian Boitano, Lance Armstrong (I have my reasons – okay, my journalist instincts might kick in. He fascinates me), Charles Barkley (I’ve stood next to him and got his autograph, but didn’t have a conversation with the man. I love his sarcastic sense of humor), I could go on forever.

So, give me some of your sports bucket lists? Maybe you want to see some obscure sport like the cricket world championships. Okay, I made that up. I don’t know how the world of cricket works. Badminton? Ping Pong? Beach Volleyball? I could get behind some beach volleyball. On the beach, with scantily clad guys smashing a ball.

 Oh yeah, and don’t forget to check out my book, Picks & Pucks. It’s on Amazon, Amazon Canada, Amazon UK, (Seriously I had no idea there were all these Amazons) AllRomance or click on the book cover to get over to Dreamspinner. 

Okay, back to the hockey game

Xo, Teegan  

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

