NORTH DAKOTA Hockey

Standard

Write what you know…Yeah, well, I’ve never actually played the game of hockey unless you count games on outdoor rinks where you spend more time crawling out of snowbanks than playing the game, or maybe teaching power skating to little wanna-be hockey players count. Regardless, I wrote a book that includes hockey (make that two books. Frozen Hearts is coming out in August)
Since Picks & Pucks was released, I’ve been asked where the book is set, so tonight, I’m spilling the beans. When I was writing the book, I decided not to get specific about the location. It’s easier to be vague, but it’s easier to use real locations to get the descriptions right. And since I grew up in a college hockey town with a stellar team and beautiful arena, I went with what I know.
IMG_1894
This is the arena I used. It’s one of the best venues in the country. It was built especially for viewing hockey and playing the game. The Ralph Englestad Arena is gorgeous, inside and out.
549230_490516161011728_319756844_n
When I attended a game at the Joe Louis arena, where the Red Wings play, the first thing I thought was…this is a dump compared to our college arena. I didn’t say it out loud. I’m not that stupid. 62358_478358612227483_2036537693_n
The building has two sheets of ice. One regulation hockey, the other an Olympic size sheet of ice. I’ve skated on both sheets and been in the underbelly of the building. I’ve only seen pictures of the hockey locker room though. The arena seats close to 11,700 people and is regularly sold-out for the games.

So there’s the answer. I used the University of North Dakota hockey program for inspiration when writing Picks & Pucks and Frozen Hearts.

If you ever have a chance to see a hockey game up in the frozen north at the palace on the prairie, I highly recommend it.

Xo, Teegan

One response »

  1. Hi. Just finished Frozen Hearts and came here to see more about the book and your other works. I really enjoyed the book and I hope one day we’ll get to see Sam have his happy ending. As a fellow UND fan, here’s to a season that ends better than last years’. And seeing a live game is on my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

